Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Routes and VA profitability

Thank you to all who worked on making the new routes a reality. The new mountain flying available in the western U.S. is great.

I do wonder about each flight's profitability and since the only info available seems to be gross rev and fuel cost its hard to tell.

Would it be correct to say that if you multiplied your pilot pay times the hours flown and added the fuel cost, then subtract that from the gross revenue you could tell how much money you made or lost for the VA?

If not, how is each flight's profit/loss computed?

Marty Kovar

As a VA manager I get detailed reports on the VA's finances, believe me the VA makes lots of money, I believe our best month was well over 60 million USD!
    "Remember, when in doubt hold on to your altitude, no one has ever collided with the sky"

"Speed is life, Altitude is life insurance"

"Respect the ground, for during the 100 or so years that man has been flying things made of metal going hundreds of miles per hour, and the ground going zero miles per hour, the ground has yet to lose."

[IMG]http://www.msflights.net/pilots/phpvms/lib/signatures/MSF0041.png[/IMG]

[IMG]http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8081/8414713730_5a72947ba2_o.png[/IMG]

Comment

The costs that are calculated are Pilot Pay, Fuel Costs AND Ticket Cost. The higher the pilot rank is, the more they get paid.
      Here is a breakdown on your a recent flight you did: http://www.msflights.net/pilots/phpv...reps/view/7259

1. You flew a Duke-B60 that holds 4 passengers so you multiply the ticket price of $ 165.49x4=$661.96 (That's why it's important in kACARS/FsPassengers to select a aircraft with similar Passenger capacity to the aircraft you are flying. Ticket prices are set by the VA for each leg depending on the distance. There is also a minumum price of $50 for short flights I believe.)