Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AT&T or Comcast (XFinity) internet service

Next week I have to choose one or the other. Any thoughts, comments, experiences that would be helpful in making a decision?

Thanks!

I have had good long term stability with Comcast in Seattle. The Steam NA server on Comcast annoyingly disconnects from Steam with all to frequent regularity (twice a day is average but only periodically). However the variables concerning this are beyond me to properly quantify and analyze. Comcast has had some national scale service interruptions over the past few months that have been well publicized. Technical internet backbone regional problems is what I read.

Comcast customer service has been, for me, adequate to good. That seems to be a matter of who you get to deal with as opposed to a corporate directive to Comcast representatives and on-customer-site subcontractor technicians.

I have no experience nor knowledge regarding ATT. I advise asking any technically literate neighbors in your new neighborhood if practical.

Again, thanks for your sim server hosting and your overall work coordinating our sim server array. I trust you are reading my tech posts over in staff forum and my forum PM on sim server matters.
    Respects, Bob ...

Comment

Depends on what you're looking for. I can tell you only my opinion about Comcast.
      • Speed? Comcast seems reasonable value for performance. We have 125 Mbps down/12 Mbps up, negotiated for the same price from the 70 Mbps available to everyone in our building. They're also the fastest provider locally.
      • Reliability? Very few problems. Some occasional packet loss at peak times due to sharing the building with 47 other apartments.